Le quattro stagioni

Antonio Vivaldi (1678-1741), the Venetian Baroque composer and violin virtuoso, composed around 450 solo concertos, of which about 230 are dedicated to the violin. In 1725 a collection of 12 concertos „Il cimento dell´armonia e dell´inventione“ (The Contest between Harmony and Invention) was published and the first four bear the subtitle The Four Seasons.

The title of the collection itself reveals the conflict between the art of composition (harmony) and improvisational abilities directly on stage (invention). However, The Four Seasons are also a unique combination of music and Italian sonnets describing the different seasons of the year. These original texts with subtitles in seven languages will be shown simultaneously on the screen.

More information

Time: 19:00

Place: Concert Hall of Klarisky

Bratislava CARD

This site uses cookies. By continuing to view this site, you agree to their use. Information on the use of cookies.

The cookie settings on this website are set to "allow cookies" to give you the best browsing experience possible. If you continue to use this website without changing your cookie settings or you click "Accept" below then you are consenting to this.