Get in touch with us

The Tourist Information Centre is closed from 25th November 2021 until further notice.

In urgent cases, please contact us on workdays at We are happy to answer your queries within 24 hours.

Hilaris Chamber Orchestra

Already the age of eleven Felix Mendelssohn Bartholdy “bit” with appetite into orchestra music. After the example of his famous forerunners he wrote a dozen of brilliant symphonies for strings; the thirteenth remained only a one-part torso. Mendelssohn was a prodigy; before him Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart lined up in this prestigious category. One of the most universal composers in music history stepped in every existing genre – including the Sinfonia Concertante. This one, dedicated to a duo of string instruments, uses among others cleverly the strategy of scordatura – tuning of the instrument. The expressive string quartets by Dmitri Shostakovich are winding through the entire active career of this composer. The well-known symphonic composer managed to encode an unbelievable sound potential in the four parts. Also because of this many of his string quartets stood in the centre of interest of the arrangers and they exist also in the version for string orchestra. Shostakovich composed the second opus of this kind after already having written eight expressive symphonies.

Hilaris Chamber Orchestra
Alan Vizváry  artistic leader / violin
Ľudovít Kara viola

Felix Mendelssohn Bartholdy  String Symphony No. 13 in C minor Sinfoniesatz
Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart  Sinfonia Concertante for Violin, Viola & Orchestra in E flat major, K. 364
Dmitri Shostakovich String Quartet No. 2 in A major, Op. 68 (orchestra version)

Concert Hall of the Slovak Philharmonic
10th April 2019 at 6 pm


This site uses cookies. By continuing to view this site, you agree to their use. Information on the use of cookies.

The cookie settings on this website are set to "allow cookies" to give you the best browsing experience possible. If you continue to use this website without changing your cookie settings or you click "Accept" below then you are consenting to this.