Get in touch with us

The Tourist Information Centre is closed from 25th November 2021 until further notice.

In urgent cases, please contact us on workdays at We are happy to answer your queries within 24 hours.


In the second half of the 19th century Richard Wagner and his supporters caused heavy commotions which led to a deep crisis of the classical music system. His reform theatre projects exceeded the framework of the contemporary standards and denied the principles of the past centuries. In this context, Tannhäuser is a revolutionary piece. The Overture – symphonic poem is still conform to the usual rules. In the Piano Concerto No. 3 Ludwig van Beethoven began to modify his opinion on the concert principle; he strengthened the functionality of the orchestra and tied the soloist part more to the orchestra setting. As model served to him partially Mozart’s Piano Concerto No. 24 in C minor, KV 491. The Symphony No. 5 by Jean Sibelius is a piece of joy and triumph; in fact it originates in the depressive period of World War One, however its impact in view of the poetics of the Finnish composer is even atypically optimistic.

Slovak Philharmonic
Eivind Gullberg Jensen
Javier Perianes piano

Richard Wagner  Tannhäuser Overture
Ludwig van Beethoven  Piano Concerto No. 3 in C minor, Op. 37
Jean Sibelius  Symphony No. 5 in E flat major, Op. 82

Concert Hall of the Slovak Philharmonic
24th January 2019 and 25th January 2019 at 7 pm

After the concert on 25th January 2019 a public interview with the artists will take place.


This site uses cookies. By continuing to view this site, you agree to their use. Information on the use of cookies.

The cookie settings on this website are set to "allow cookies" to give you the best browsing experience possible. If you continue to use this website without changing your cookie settings or you click "Accept" below then you are consenting to this.