Get in touch with us

The Tourist Information Centre is closed from 25th November 2021 until further notice.

In urgent cases, please contact us on workdays at We are happy to answer your queries within 24 hours.


The premiere of the Violin Concerto by Ludwig van Beethoven in 1806 became a fiasco. For a long time it remained forgotten. In order to overcome the disappointment, the author created also the piano version and this convinced the audience. Only in 1844 the violinist Joseph Joachim looked after the rehearsal and the demanding piece entered the hall of fame. Several dozens of solo cadenzas from different authors testifies this. The Chaconne for solo violin by Johann Sebastian Bach also belongs to the most famous literature for violin. Its structural and tonal dispositions lead many musicians to arrangements and paraphrases as well. Also the lesser known Swiss composer Joachim Raff looked after it; his work is unjustly eluded. He presents his compositional skills and experiences also in the orchestra version of the Chaconne. The British composer Sir Edward Elgar is the doyen of English music of the turn of the 19th and 20th centuries. His talent was appreciated also by the demanding Richard Strauss. Though Elgar’s music is flavored with old English intonation, basically it is „continental“. For the Overture In the South, or also Alassio Elgar, the author was inspired by his stay in Italy.

Slovak Philharmonic
Charles Olivieri-Munroe
Ivan Ženatý violin

Ludwig van Beethoven  Violin Concerto in D major, Op. 61
Johann Sebastian Bach / Joachim Raff  
Chaconne from Partita No. 2 in D minor for solo violin, BWV 1004 (version for orchestra)
Edward Elgar  In the South, Concert Overture, Op. 50

Concert Hall of the Slovak Philharmonic
31st January 2019 and 1st February 2019 at 7 pm


This site uses cookies. By continuing to view this site, you agree to their use. Information on the use of cookies.

The cookie settings on this website are set to "allow cookies" to give you the best browsing experience possible. If you continue to use this website without changing your cookie settings or you click "Accept" below then you are consenting to this.